Civil Service Commission

The Civil Service Commission was established by Ordinance 773 on April 9, 1934 and was later amended by Ordinance 4379 pursuant to the provisions of A.C.A. 14-51-201; this changed the membership from five members to seven members.

The Commission is responsible for examining and establishing eligibility lists for appointments and promotions within the Police and Fire Departments. The Commission also acts upon appeals of disciplinary actions.

Meeting Videos

To view meeting recordings, visit our past meeting video archives.


Staggered, six-year terms, ending March 31.


The Commission shall be composed of seven members who must be citizens and residents of Fayetteville for at least three years immediately preceding their appointment. The Board of Civil Service Commissioners shall, annually, on the first Monday of May select one of the commissioners to serve as chairman of the commission.


Vacancies on the Commission are filled by appointment from the governing body of the city.

Public Notifications

A weekly meetings list is prepared by the Office of the City Clerk Treasurer which is distributed to the press and posted on the home page.

Rules and Regulations

Civil Service Commission Rules and Regulations