Fayetteville Public Library Board of Trustees

The Fayetteville Library was established in June of 1916. On Tuesday, July 27, 1959 the City Council voted to take over the operation of the Library and establish the Fayetteville Public Library Board of Trustees as required by state statutes. The board term end dates were amended by Ordinance 2324, on April 5, 1977.

The purpose of the Board of Trustees is to provide leadership in performing the mission of the Library; to serve as a liaison between the Library and the City; and to ensure the Library meets the informational, educational, and recreational needs of the community.

The Library Board is responsible for Library funds, construction, and maintenance of any Library building, policies and planning, and the appointment of the Library Director. Title 13 of the Arkansas Code Annotated governs the establishment and maintenance of public libraries in cities of the first class.


Board members serve staggered, five-year terms, ending April 1.


The Board shall be composed of five to seven members from the public-at-large.


Vacancies on the Board shall be appointed by the Mayor of the City with the approval of the City Council. Trustees may be removed if absent from four consecutive meetings of the board without due explanation.

Public Notifications

A weekly meetings list is prepared by the Office of the City Clerk Treasurer; it is distributed to the press and posted online.